Kalambaka Greece

Meteora Greece

Meteora monasteries are in the Kalambaka (Καλαμπάκα) municipality and are the second largest and important complexes of Eastern Orthodox monasteries, located in central Greece.

It consists of six monasteries that are built on natural sandstone rock pillars and included on the UNESCO World Heritage list. It is beleived those rock pillars were formed about 60 million years ago during a series of earth movements and continuous weathering by extreme temperatures, wind and water.

Most of the monasteries are perched on high cliffs and accessible by staircases cut into the rock formations.

The six world famous monasteries in Meteora Greece are:
* The Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron - largest one that serves as the main museum;
* The Holy Monastery of Varlaam;
* The Holy Monastery of Rousanou/St. Barbara;
* The Holy Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas;
* The Holy Monastery of St. Stephen;
* The Monastery of Holy Trinity.
These six monasteries are now top tourist attractions and they attract thousands of tourists every year in the country.

Kalambaka Meteora monasteries

Kalambaka Meteora in Greece is a magnificent place and if you plan to visit it be aware of the timetable of the monasteries.

But for now just see the beauty of its indescribable nature: